Braxton Citizens' News, Schools

Board of Ed approves levy rates, recognizes personnel

The Braxton County Board of Education held a double meeting on April 16. During the first meeting, the board reviewed and approved the adoption of the levy rates for the 2024-2025 school year on a motion by Lisa Ratliff.

The second special meeting immediately followed the adoption of the levy rates. That meeting opened with Superintendent Dr. Donna Burge-Tetrick and the board recognizing Stacey Butler, 2024 Elementary School Mathematics Teacher of the Year as awarded by the West Virginia Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Director of Teaching and Learning Linda Sears spoke on Butler’s accolades that earned her the high honor. Butler is in her thirteenth year of teaching and is pursuing her master’s degree.

The WVCTM stated in their announcement that she strove “not only for student engagement but success for each and every student” daily.

Next board members and the superintendent individually recognized the service and professional employee of the year nominees. Those nominated for service included Allison Westfall, BCHS, Kelly Pritt, BCMS, Shaina Shaver, Burnsville, Brenda Raynor, Davis, Helen Harper, Flatwoods, Vickie Allen, Frametown, Sandy Rose, Little Birch, and Mark Rose, BCS. Kelly Pritt was named the 2023-24 Service Personnel of the Year.

The professional nominees were Jami Hefner, BCHS, Melissa Duckworth, BCMS, Leigh Ann Meadows, Davis, Janice Bane, Flatwoods, Michelle Shaver, Little Birch, Jessica Rose, Sutton, and Laura Allen, Frametown. The 2023-24 Teacher of the Year for Braxton County is Jami Hefner.

In regular action, the board approved the consent agenda items: minutes of the April 9 regular meeting; budget transfers and supplements; and payment of bills.

The following personnel recommendations were approved on a motion by Dr. Kenna Seal: resignation of Josh Drake, teacher and coach, BCHS and Sherri Stump, buyer/warehouse supervisor/maintenance clerk/van driver, BCS for retirement; employment of Kevin Armentrout, extra-curricular mower, and Charles Smith, summer learning bus operator; and Dawn Cutlip, absent from her position as secretary, Davis, March 25 to April 22, then on an as needed basis for the remainder of the school year using family medical leave.

Josh “JD” Drake spoke to board members concerning his resignation as teacher and coach at BCHS. He is leaving after 24 years of service in Braxton for health reasons. He thanked the board for the opportunity to have an influence on students and voiced his appreciation of his co-workers.

Under old business, the board approved to put the two calendar options out for vote by staff. The comments received during the comment period showed an overwhelming support of option 2. After the staff voting, board members will approved the final calendar at the next meeting.

The board approved the Letter of Extension for HPS purchasing for the 2024-25 SY: Child Nutrition on a motion by Dr. Kenna Seal.

Also approved by the board on a motion by Larry Hardway was the appointment of Erica Whitney as treasurer of Braxton County Schools. This position needs to be appointed annually by state code and is usually filled by the same person as the one employed by the school system. Whitney had been previously approved and hired to serve as Director of Finance by the board.

Board members ended the meeting congratulating again the staff recognized and honored for the work and dedication to school system and the students.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:55 pm. The next regular meeting is scheduled for tonight, April 23 at 6:00 pm. As always, members of the Braxton County community are encouraged to attend regular board meetings. Any parent or concerned community member wishing to speak as a delegate or with public concerns may do so by signing in up to 15 minutes prior to the start of the meeting.