Community, The Braxton Democrat, Town Meeting

Commission Discusses 911 Issues in Lengthy Executive Session

The Braxton County Commission held their second regular meeting of January last Friday, January 26. That meeting, originally scheduled for January 20 was postponed due to inclement weather.
At the conclusion of that meeting President Lisa Godwin requested an executive session to discuss “9-1-1 Personnel Matter/issues and Rent Concessions to EMS” which as listed on the agenda. Larry Clifton made the motion to adjourn into that closed door meeting at 9:28 a.m. The meeting reconvened in regular session at 10:34 a.m. No action was taken, and the meeting adjourned.
The meeting began with EMS Director Tiffany Prior and OES/9-1-1 Director John Hoffman presenting the Commission with monthly reports of activities of their individual agencies.
Chris Jefferies of Panhandle Cleaning and Restoration made a presentation to the Commission regarding a free app his company had available pertaining to disaster preparedness.
In other business, the Commission approved applications for short form settlements as filled by the Fiduciary Supervisor for the following: Wanda Lynn Bender, Phylis Kay Cierpisz, Dolly C. Clifton, Charles Donald Davis, Deborah M. Harper, Brenda Ann Jarvis, Joyce Moore, Hurl Richardson Jr., Brenda Joyce Rogers, Frances Rollyson, and Farrel Lee Rowan.
A single purchase order came before the Commission for consideration. A motion by Larry Clifton authorized the Sheriff’s office to purchase a large capacity copier tray from Komax Business Systems for $501.
The Commission reviewed and approved the revised scheduled for meetings of the Board of Equalization as provided by the Assessor.
The Commission read a letter from the Flatwoods Park and Recreation Board requesting that Dennis Miller and Gloria Starcher be reappointed to their body. That request was granted.
The Commission also approved a request from the Braxton County Development Authority to appoint Brent Boggs to fill a vacancy on their board.
Angela Lindenthal was reappointed to the Sugar Creek PSD as requested by the Board.
A motion by Larry Clifton approved the appointment of the dilapidated property (DLAP) task force committee. Those who will sit on the board include Lisa Godwin, Robyn Nolan, Rocky Nutter Dale Ball, Steve Wine, Jeff Skidmore, Shane Whitehair, Edie Tichner, Lori Dittman, Gary Davis and Dwayne Vandevender.
The Commission reviewed and accepted a letter of resignation from Kimberley Jarrett as Humane Office. A separate motion authorized the Commission to advertise for interested persons to fill the vacancy.
A motion by Larry Clifton authorized the Commission to transfer the title of the new ambulance to the EMS.
The Commission read a letter from Becky Edwards, with the Senior Companion Program requesting the renewal of a $250 match for the program to continue in Braxton County. That request was granted.
Following a discussion, Larry Clifton made a motion to add two video intercom stations to offices in the Courthouse Annex building at a cost of $2,795.68.
After reviewing the county and EMS bills presented for payment and the minutes from the Commission’s regular meeting of January 5, both were approved via separate motions.
The next regular meeting of the Braxton County Commission is set for February 2 beginning at 9:00 a.m.