Braxton Citizens' News, Government

Slate set for May Primary

With the passing of the filing deadline, Saturday, January 27, the ballots are now set for May Primary Election, barring any late arriving mailed applications.

Locally, the two Magistrate seats have drawn the most attention. A total of seven candidates have thrown their hats in the ring to vie for the posts. Floyd Cunningham of Gassaway filed for the district 2 seat currently held by David Singleton who did not fill for reelection. Paula M. Cunningham of Gassaway will also compete in that district as will John Eric Skidmore of Sutton. The trio will be joined by early filers Theresa Woodling of Gassaway and Robert Hamil of Sutton. Beth Prince Smith, the other incumbent Magistrate, did file for reelection in the first district. She will be challenged by Robin L. Meadows of Gassaway.

Assessor Edith “Edie” Tichner was an early filer for reelection to the office she has held for the past 6 years. No one filed to oppose the incumbent Assessor.

Sheriff Lou DellaMea will also seek a second term on the democratic ticket. He will be challenged by Marty Woods of Strange Creek for the democratic nomination. Former Sheriff Eddie Williams registered on the republican ticket.

Republican Dwayne C. Vandevender will apparently run unopposed for a full term as Prosecuting Attorney.

While not a newcomer to the political area, long time House of Delegates member Brent Boggs will compete for the Democratic slot for the lone seat on the County Commission that will be available. Ace Carr of Frametown filled as a republication for the position.

In the area of non-partisan races, which will actually be decided during the May Election, incumbents, Evelyn Post and Kenna Seal will be running unopposed for the two seats they currently hold on the Board of Education.

Debbie Hamric will compete for the position of Conservation District Supervisor which is also a non-partisan race to be decided at the May 14 election.

On the District level, three individuals will compete for two Circuit Judge positions in the 17th Judicial District. Jasmine R.H. Morton, former Braxton Prosecuting Attorney will be competing against William “Bill” McCourt of Webster Springs. McCourt is currently Braxton’s Assistant Prosecutor. Mike Asbury, who was appointed to the position when Judge Richard Facemire retired, will run unopposed for the second seat.

Lori Cowger Dittman, will be unopposed in her reelection bid to the House of Delegates on the Republican ticket. Patrick S. Martin of Jane Lew is also unopposed for reelection to the State Senate representing the 12th Senatorial District which includes Braxton. He too is a Republican.

Joyce Helmick Carpenter of Webster Springs is the lone contestant to filed for judge in the 27th Family Court District of which Braxton is part of.

The Primary Election will also select a County Surveyor. At press-time only Dwayne Hall of Sutton had filed for the office.