Government, The Braxton Democrat

Filing period for Primary Election ends Saturday

Would be candidate are in their final week of making their intentions for the May Primary Election known. The filing period ends Saturday, January 27. Locally, twelve candidates have thrown their hats in the ring to vie for various posts. Two filed this past week. Theresa Woodling of Gassaway and Robert Hamil of Sutton will be competing for the seat in the second district for Braxton County Magistrate. That seat is currently held by David Singleton. Beth Smith, the other incumbent Magistrate has filed for another term in the first district.
Assessor Edith “Edie” Tichner was an early filer for reelection to the office she has held for the past 6 years. Sheriff Lou DellaMea will also compete for a second term on the democratic ticket. Republican Dwayne C. Vandevender will vie for a full term as Prosecuting Attorney, the position he was appointed to in 2023.
While not a newcomer to the political area, long time House of Delegates member Brent Boggs, will compete for the Democratic slot for the lone seat on the County Commission that will be available.
In the area of non-partisan races, which will actually be decided during the May Election, incumbents, Evelyn Post and Kenna Seal will be seeking another term as members of the Board of Education.
Debbie Hamric will compete for the position of Conservation District Supervisor which is also a non-partisan race to be decided at the May 14 election.
On the District level, two individuals will compete for two Circuit Judge positions in the 17th Judicial District. Jasmine R.H. Morton, former Braxton Prosecuting Attorney and Mike Asbury who was appointed to the position when Judge Richard Facemire retired, filed on first day of the filing period. They are competing in separate districts and are unopposed at press-time. That race, which is also non-partisan, will also be decided during the Primary Election.
Lori Cowger Dittman, has filled for reelection to the House of Delegates on the Republican ticket. Patrick S. Martin of Jane Lew has filed for reelection to the State Senate representing the 12th Senatorial District which includes Braxton. He is a Republican.
Joyce Helmick Carpenter of Wester Springs has filed for judge in the 17th Family Court District of which Braxton is part of.
The Primary Election will also select a County Surveyor. At press-time only Dwayne Hall of Sutton had filed for the office.
Would-be candidates have until January 27 to make their intentions known. Local candidates must file and pay the appropriate fees at the Braxton County Clerk’s office. Those seeking district positions will have to register with the West Virginia Secretary of State’s Office. Mac Warner has released the 2024 Running for Office Guide, offering detailed guidance to political candidates for the upcoming state elections. The 2024 Running for Office Guide can be found on the Secretary of State’s website.
Requirements for the various positions can be obtained from the office of Braxton County Clerk Sue Rutherford or the Secretary of State’s Office. The positions to be contested locally and statewide can also be found, along with information pertaining to the filing fees, on the Secretary of State’s website.
The Braxton County Clerk, Sue Rutherford will observe extended hours for late filers. In addition to the regular 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. hours weekdays, her office will be open on Saturday from 8 a.m. to noon. Applications may be submitted by mail but must be postmarked no later than January 27.