Braxton Citizens' News, Schools

Board of Ed recognizes retirees and others

The Braxton County Board of Education conducted their most recent meeting on Wednesday, June 21.

The meeting opened with board members recognizing retirees, Teacher of the Year, and Service Personnel of the Year. Board members thanked the retirees and the other honorees for their dedication to the students.

Retirees honored were Teresa Childers-35 years, Linda Brooks-23 years, Sarah Dennison-16 years, Carla Mauser-40, Carolyn Lewis-39 years, Shirley Skidmore-22 years, and Linda Leggett-34 years. These individuals, four professional and three service, made for a combined 209 years of service to the school system.

Next were the nominees and winners of the Service Personnel of the Year award, Shaina Shaver, Michelle Shreves, Victoria Allen, Chelsea Hosey, Kelly Pritt, Allison Westfall and winner Kay Holcomb. The final recognition was for Teacher of the Year. Nominate were Michelle Winemiller, Joyce Stump, Michelle Wilson, Sue Ann White, Isaac Casto, Alice Smith and Allie Suesli, Teacher of the Year.

Members of the Retired Teachers Association provided cake and snacks for those in attendance, and they welcomed the new retirees to join their organization.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Combs gave several updates to board members. She informed them that the high school was recognized by WV State Superintendent David Roach as one the top graduation rates.

She discussed summer school being in its second week.

Dr. Combs has worked with principals and directors for the closing of the schools for the 2022-2023 school year including evaluations. The data for the school year certified that the number of students dropped to 1679 from 1720 at the beginning of the year.

Personnel will be attending the upcoming model school conference and Dr. Combs announced the school system is number three in our area for their bus rating.

Dr. Brenda Wells, Transportation Director, provided a brief update on van purchasing. She presented the information on a Toyota Sienna that will be ready in a few weeks and also a Ford dealer in Beckley will be getting vans in soon that might meet the requirements.

Board member Larry Hardway discussed an issue with a loose panel on one of the HVAC units on the roof of the high school. Dr. Brenda Wells will follow up on the issue.

Board President Evelyn Post requested the ELA monitoring documents with regard to ESSERF funds be made available to board members. Kim Dennison noted there were only two findings, one was the staffing issue at Little Birch which has been corrected and the second was the county failed to bid out for the architects of the cooler project. The school system had to respond as to how the issues were corrected.

In regular business the board approved the following consent agenda items on a motion by Larry Hardway: June 6 meeting minutes; treasurer’s report; budget transfers and supplements; and payment of bills.

The following personnel recommendations were approved on a motion by Lisa Ratliff: resignation of Kyre-Anna Minney, principal, Davis; and employment of Jarren Morlan, criminal justice/corrections services teacher, BCHS, Carmen Skiles, second grade teacher, Flatwoods, Sara D. Moore, second grade teacher, Little Birch, Patricia Nicholas, from preschool special needs teacher, Frametown to Head Start family services provider, countywide, Clarissa Mason, speech therapist, extended school year, Miranda Rapp, LD/BD/MI/AU/VI/PSN teacher, extended school year, and April Thayer from BCMS/BOE custodian to full-time custodian, Burnsville.

Dr. Combs requested that the board hold off on making a decision on the posting of the ECCAT/Aide/Paraprofessional position in order for her to work with the new superintendent on the posting.

The board had the second reading of Policy 4310-Medication Administration and Local Wellness Policy 1006. No comments have been received for either policy. Kevin Gregory made the motion to approve the second reading of those policies.

The meeting adjourned at 6:44 pm. The board will have a special meeting on June 27 at 6:00 pm to wrap-up end of the school year items. The swearing in of the new superintendent will be on June 28 at 4:00 pm with Judge Richard Facemire presiding. The next regular meeting will be Wednesday, July 5 at 6:00 due to the July 4th holiday.