Braxton Citizens' News, Community

Early voting for municipal elections started Wednesday

Three of Braxton County’s towns will elect new officials this year. The early voting period for residents of Burnsville, Gassaway and Sutton begins casting their vote today, May 31 and continues through June 10 for residents of the various cities. Those who do not take advantage of the early voting timeframe will still be able to vote on Election Day, June 13.

In Burnsville two individuals are challenging incumbent mayor Paul Bragg for that city’s top slot. They are Duane Mattson and Johnnie Verton. Becky Jackson is running unopposed for the office of recorder. Five council seats are up for grabs. Three incumbents are running for reelection with their names on the official ballot. They include Tommy Crutchfield, Chris Dean and Steve Wine. In addition, three individuals have filed as official write in candidates meaning that their name may be placed anywhere on the ballot, written or as a sticker, and the vote will count. Those three write-in candidates are Brandy Allen, Jeremy Allen, and Colin Dean.

In Gassaway, incumbent mayor Richard M. Roach is running unopposed. The same is true for recorder Walter Lane Jack II.

The only real competition comes in six people, four on the ballot and two official write-ins, competing for the five council seats. Sandra Simmons, Lynn Jefferies, Lawrence M. Chapman, and James E. Criner will have their names printed on the ballot. Rocky Gene Nutter and Rick Criner are official write-in candidates.

In Sutton, Shelly Sutphin is challenging Jon JD Hoover for the office of mayor which is this only real competition in the election. Robyn Dolan is unopposed for the office of recorder.

Only 4 people are running for the five council seats with no official write-in candidates recognized. They are Laura Beth Adkins, Jonathan Crum, Catherine Hoover and Steve Facemire.