Vol. 44, No. 21

May 22, 2018

  Advertise   Contact Us
 Change Address   E-Subscriber Login   Subscribe   Pay Bill

Devoted to Braxton County -- Responsive to its citizens' needs

Want more Citizens' News? Get the e-subscription to view the full edition.

Main           Editorial            Classifieds            Obituaries            Sports           Featured Stories           Subscribe           Links

Cottrill, Hoard lead BCHS class of 2018

The Class of 2018 graduated from Braxton County High School May 25 with Heath Cottrill and KC Hoard leading the class.
The ceremony began with Principal Jessica Pierson welcoming family and friends into the gymnasium.
As the class entered, the processional by the BCHS band, directed by Jon Kimble, rang through the gym and adjoining commons area, where a live feed of the ceremony was being shown for those who could not find seating within the commemoration.
Pierson returned to the podium to introduce the Top Ten seniors. These seniors were recognized for their outstanding performance in and out of the classroom. Each one also had their own job to perform during the ceremony.
Nikki Wayne, number six, gave the invocation, followed by Payton Lockard, number five, to lead the Pledge of Allegiance. Senior band members were then directed to join the band in singing the school’s Alma Mater.
Olivia Wayne, number seven, rose to the stage to introduce the guest speaker, Mrs. Carla Dettman. Olivia spoke about Dettman’s role in shaping the lives of the graduating class through her teaching during the time spent in the middle school, where Dettman teaches eighth grade English.
Dettman began her speech by looking back at the time when she taught the students the ins and outs of public speaking, and telling the class how thankful, but nervous, she was to have been asked to speak. She encouraged students to push hard in their future endeavors and to never say, “I can’t.”



Your Advertisement
Could Be Here

Call Us For Details

Phone: 304-765-5193
Fax: 304-765-2754
Email: editor@bcn-news.com

We now have our
E-subscription available!






Former county resident named GSC’s Alumnus of the Year

Glenville State College alumni and friends gathered on campus for the 2018 Alumni Banquet on Saturday, April 28 in the Mollohan Campus Community Center Ballroom. Those in attendance enjoyed a dinner buffet and the presentation of the 2018 GSC Alumni Association Awards.
The evening’s prestigious Alumna of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Monica (Null) Beane ‘96, a native of Wirt County, and former Gassaway resident. The award is given to a graduate of Glenville State College for outstanding contributions in their chosen field or for outstanding personal accomplishments. Beane joined Educational Testing Service (ETS) as a Client Relations Director in 2017. In this role, she serves as the first line of contact for their clients in Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Utah, and Washington. Beane has over 20 years of educational experience, including posts as the Executive Director of the Office of Educator Effectiveness and Licensure at the West Virginia Department of Education, an elementary school principal, and multiple teaching positions.

Commission recognizes writing contest winners BCMS student takes first in State

The highlight of last Friday’s Braxton County Commission meeting was the recognition of winners from the county and statewide writing contest sponsored by the County Commissioners Association of West Virginia. Vivian Parson, CCAWV Executive Director was on hand to recognize two students who placed in the statewide competition.
Parsons told the audience that more than 200 entries were received pertaining to the subject of “How does my county commission make life better for me?” She added that the judging was very difficult.
Two participants from Braxton County received statewide recognition. Mary Jane Campbell received an honorable mention certificate from Parson for her award winning effort. Anthony Godwin won first place in the state which earned a $500 cash price for himself and his classroom teacher, Lori Dittman.
Following the presentation, Commission President Ron Facemire recognized the local winners.


Grand Jurors summoned; term begins June 5

The following citizens have been selected to serve on the upcoming term of the Grand Jury beginning on June 5 at 8:45 am.
Rondal Earnie Miller of Sutton, James Earl Cayton of Napier, Joshua Paul Wine of Flatwoods, Larry Sheridan Jarvis of Frametown, Karen Eggleton Herbinko of Ireland, Nicolette Marie Bonazzo of Gassaway, Cory Scott Garvin of Little Birch, Lori Ann Walker of Frametown, Rebecca Hope Weese of Gassaway, Lesley B Nottingham of Duck, Lilian Minae Lake of Burnsville, Deborah Jean Jordan of Sutton, Beth A Culverhouse of Heaters, Benjamin Andrew Mussano of Frametown, Eden Spencer Calhoun of Walkersville, and William Joseph Moulton of Sutton.Barbara Lea Lough of Sutton, Donald Ray Demastus of Sutton, Matthew Ray Carpenter of Gassaway, Treva Jean Mick of Frametown, Robert Lee Lockard of Exchange, Carol Chapman of Gassaway, Donald Wayne Wyant of Copen, Crystal Dawn Wilson of Frametown, Iva Catherine Deuly of Gassaway, Kacey Marie Cutlip of Napier, Brenda Kay Mehlbauer of Frametown, Barbara Jean James of Gassaway, Robert Junior Dillon of Sutton, Bruce Allen Cottrill of Frametown, Samantha Jane Lynch of Sutton, Hannah Elizabeth Duffield of Duck, Deanna Lynne Rexroad of Gassaway, and Jeffrey Lynn Kelley of Sutton.....

How does my county commission make
life better for me?

By Anthony Godwin (Editor’s Note:The following essay was the first place winning entry by Anthony Godwin for both Braxton County and the State Of West Virginia sponsored by the County Commissioners Association of West Virginia. See the front page story regarding recent activites of the Braxton County Commission for more details.) My county commission makes my life better because they support community services. The Braxton County Commission supports our local county park. I have three important reasons why Holly Gray Park holds a special place in my heart.
First, the Braxton County Fair is held at Holly Gray Park. I have attended the Braxton County Fair since I was six weeks old. For 14 years, I have made a lot of memories and friends that I will remember the rest of my life. Without the funding from the county commission, the Braxton County Fair would have a hard time paying their bills.





Burnsville residents honored by GSC

Glenville State College President Dr. Tracy Pellett honored several employees at the College’s Faculty and Staff Appreciation Awards Luncheon that was held on Tuesday, May 8 in the Mollohan Campus Community Center Ballroom. President Pellett presented certificates of appreciation to sixteen employees for their many years of service at Glenville State College in addition to other awards, citations, and recognition given to individual members of the campus community.
GSC recognizes employees beginning with 15 years of service; subsequent employment milestones are recognized in five year increments.

Main   |   Editorial   |    Classifieds   |   Obituaries   |  Sports   |   Featured Stories 
Contact Us  |   Advertise   |   Subscribe   |   Pay Bill   |   Change Address

Copyright © Braxton Citizens' News, 2007. All Rights Reserved
Web Site Hosted and Designed by Ramco Technologies Online