Braxton Citizens' News, Schools

BCHS Graduates 133; Evans, Martin lead the way

The Class of 2024 graduated from Braxton County High School May 17 with Jeffrey Evans leading 133 classmates during the 55th commencement ceremony.

Principal Lori Stover-Williams presented the Top 10 seniors to the audience in the newly renovated BCHS gym. The seniors were recognized for their outstanding performance in and out of the classroom.

Each one of the Top 10 also had their own job to perform during the ceremony.

Mikaya Moore, number six, led the invocation and Wyatt Dennison, number seven, led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Number four, Nickolas Brown, introduced the keynote speaker, Supreme Court Justice Tim Armstead. He reminded students to use defeats and setbacks to keep going forward and to not get discouraged.

Riley Martin, Salutatorian, addressed the crowd regarding her fellow students and their experiences over their high school years.

Valedictorian Jeffrey Evans talked about success and the future with fellow students.

After the Valedictorian address, Morgan Whitney, number eight, recognized the students who had received local scholarships from various community organizations.

Principal Stover-Williams recognized those graduates who were completers in their various fields of studies.

Superintendent Dr. Donna Burge-Tetrick addressed the students, congratulating them on their accomplishments and wishing success as they move on to the next chapter of their lives.

Representatives of Glenville State University honored those earning their associate degrees along with their diplomas as part of the AA Pathway program at Glenville. Those students were Jeffrey Evans, Nickolas Brown and Riley Martin.

Following the recognitions, the class of 2024 was presented to receive their diplomas.

Assistant Principal John McElwain, read the graduates’ names as they received their certifications from Superintendent Dr. Burge-Tetrick, Board President Evelyn Post, and board members Lisa Ratliff, Kevin Gregory, Larry Hardway, and Dr. Kenna Seal.

After all names had been read, Mark Byerly, number four, performed the turning of the tassel ceremony, signifying the seniors’ graduating.

Cade Lancaster, number three, gave the closing remarks.

The final step of graduation was led by Savannah Smith, number nine, who led the hat toss ceremony.

The gym filled with cheers as the seniors threw their caps into the air, officially marking the graduation of the BCHS Class of 2024.

See additional photographic coverage on page 11 of this issue.