Government, The Braxton Democrat

Several File on 1st Day of Primary Election Filing Period

Candidate registration began for the May Primary Election on Monday, January 8. Locally, several candidates threw their hats in the ring to vie for various posts. Most of those filing on the first day were incumbents.
Assessor Edith “Edie” Tichner was an early filer for reelection to the office she has held for the past 6 years. Sheriff Lou DellaMea will also compete for a second term on the democratic ticket. Republican Dwayne C. Vandevender will vie for a full term as Prosecuting Attorney, the position he was appointed to in 2023.
While not a newcomer to the political area, long time House of Delegates member Brent Boggs, will compete for the Democratic slot for the lone seat on the County Commission that will be available.
In the area of non-partisan races, which will actually be decided during the May Election, incumbents, Evelyn Post and Kenna Seal will be seeking another term as members of the Board of Education.
Debbie Hamrick will compete for the position of Conservation District Supervisor which is also a non-partisan race to be decided at the May 14 election.
On the District level, two individuals will compete for the office of Circuit Judge of the 17th Judicial District. Jasmine R.H. Morton, former Braxton Prosecuting Attorney and Mike Asbury who was appointed to the position when Judge Richard Facemire retired, filed on Monday. That race, which is also non-partisan, will also be decided during the Primary Election.
Lori Cowger Dittman, has filled for reelection to the House of Delegates on the Republican ticket. No one has filed as of press-time for the Senate representing the 12th Senatorial District which includes Braxton. The same is true for the 17th Family Count District of which Braxton is part of.
The Primary Election will also select two Magistrates and a County Surveyor. At press-time no one had filed for those positions.
Would-be candidates have until January 27 to make their intentions known. Local candidates must file and pay the appropriate fees at the Braxton County Clerk’s office. Those seeking district positions will have to register with the West Virginia Secretary of State’s Office. Mac Warner has released the 2024 Running for Office Guide, offering detailed guidance to political candidates for the upcoming state elections. The 2024 Running for Office Guide can be found on the Secretary of State’s website.
Requirements for the various positions can be obtained from the office of Braxton County Clerk Sue Rutherford or the Secretary of State’s Office. The positions to be contested locally and statewide can also be found, along with information pertaining to the filing fees, on the Secretary of State’s website.