Braxton Citizens' News, Schools

Board of Education recognized athletic accomplishments

The Braxton County Board of Education opened their most recent meeting on November 15 with the fall athletics recognition by new Athletic Director Dan Wilson.

The meeting, dubbed “Night of Champions”, recognized student athletes from both the middle and high school. First was the BCHS Girls Cross Country. The Lady Eagles were Regional Champions and placed fourth in the state with Addison Lloyd leading the group with a sixth-place finish at states. Other team members recognized were Laura Cain, Teagan Huff, Bethan Payne, Nicole Bramble, Lindsay Tetrick, and Heidi Payne.

Next were the members of the LKC Champions, BCHS Lady Eagles Soccer Team: Cierra Crawford, Lila Fitzwater, Jaden Foster, Bianca Grindo, Bailey Pritt, Lauren Pritt, Ava Gerwig, Erica Hart, Adrian Lunceford, Mikaya Moore, Erica Nicholson, Lauren Nicholson, Emmalee Jarvis, Heidi King, and Bre Smarr. Individual honors went to Bre Smarr for LKC Girls Soccer Player of the Year, Girls Soccer 1st Team All Region, and Girls Soccer Honorable Mention All-State; 1st Team All LKC Girls Soccer for Bre Smarr, Heidi King, Erica Nicholson, and Lauren Pritt, 2nd Team All LKC Girls Soccer for Bailey Pritt, Erica Hart, and Ava Gerwig; and Nathan Smarr for LKC Girls Soccer Coach of the Year.

Individuals from the BCHS Eagles Boys Soccer team were recognized. Matthias Garavaglia received LKC Boys Soccer Player of the Year and 1st Team All LKC Boys Soccer honors. Also recognized were Richard Westfall, Owen McCallister, Nick Brown, and Austin Smarr for 2nd Team All LKC Boys Soccer.

Tyler Cox, Matthias Garavaglia, and Jaxson Short received Recognition for Excellence for their work on the BCHS Eagles Football team during the fall season.

From Braxton County Middle School, the Lady Knights Girls Cross Country were CWVAC Champions for the third straight year. Team members are Reece Carpenter, Chelsea Payne, Mackinzy Anderson, Audrey Duckworth, Leah Payne, and Emily Whitney.

BCMS Knights Soccer team members Holden Lloyd, Joshua Anderson, Cassidy Coyer, Blaine Hines, Zack McQuain, Joal Ransbottom, Kaylee Casto, Mallory Daniels, Lance Henline, Bailey McCallister, Tanner Rader, Sparrow Reiter, Makenna Robinson, Madison Singleton, and Cade Squires were CWVAC Champions. Receiving CWVAC All-Conference honors were Joal Ransbottom, Makenna Robinson, and Zack McQuain. Tanner Rader, Blaine Hines, and Cade Squires received CWVAC All-Tournament honors.

On the Knights Football team, Trevor Edgerton, Remington Huffman, and Brady Toler were named to All Conference.

The last group recognized for the night was BCMS Lady Knights Volleyball. Lillian Copen and Amira Harper were named to All Conference and Cadie Browning to All Tournament.

AD Wilson thanked the board for the opportunity to work with the student athletes and the community for their support. He showed board members the new Fan Central website showcasing athletics, including game and practice schedules, links, and other information for coaches, parents, and fans.

Susan Schiefer, CIS Site Coordinator, spoke to the board next giving a brief update on the national certification on the Community in Schools program at Sutton Elementary. She thanked Principal Flora Cox, the staff at SES, and community members for their support of the program.

The board then went into executive session at 6:37 pm to discuss a personnel issue with four individuals who had requested to speak to the board. They reconvened at 7:28 pm.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Combs informed the board the data collection was not complete from the high school, but she hoped to have all the data on testing, attendance, discipline, etc. for all schools ready for presentation to the board at the next meeting.

She informed the board she was still working on the job description for security in schools. Dr. Combs stated she wanted to meet with the safety and security committee before moving forward with the information.

Larry Hardway asked about reviewing the county’s cell phone policy for both students and staff. Dr. Combs noted the county does have a policy and is one of many that need to be updated. Many of the policies are out of date, up to 20 years old, and she is looking at options including possibly outsourcing the review of policies.
Board members discussed items that they need to discuss in an upcoming work session, including policy updates, cameras and security, vehicle and facility’s needs, and service personnel positions. President Post asked that board members send her any other topics they would like to discuss during the work session.

Dr. Leatha Williams stated she will be presenting bids for cameras at the December meeting. Dr. Brenda Wells, Director of Facilities, told the board that Chris Campbell with ZMM Architects, will be presenting an update on facilities after Christmas break.

Under regular business, the board approved the following consent agenda items on a motion by Kevin Gregory: approval of November 1 meeting minutes with correction for a typo; transportation requests; treasurer’s report; payment of bills; and budget transfers and supplements.

The following professional, service, and extra-curricular personnel recommendations were approved by the board on a motion by Lisa Ratliff: employment for Kevin Westley Carpenter, substitute teacher, Shannon Allen, substitute teacher, John McElwain, assistant principal/CTE Director, BCHS, Lori Pritt, substitute cook, David McQuain, substitute mechanic, and Tyler Toler, $1 assistant boys basketball coach, BCMS; and resignations for Marlo Hornsby, occupational therapist (part-time position), Jeffery Shamblin, general maintenance/carpenter/electrician II, and Jennifer Miller, assistant athletic director, BCMS.

The board approved fundraisers as presented and parent volunteer, Jessica Tanner, for Davis on separate motions.

The board also approved on a motion by Larry Hardway Dr. Combs request to post for the middle school assistant athletic director at the supplemental pay rate of $6,000 and high school assistant athletic director at the supplemental pay rate of $7500. According to Dr. Combs, both of these positions were in the original proposal by Dr. Tony Minney for the athletic programs.

Larry Hardway also made the motion to approve Dr. Comb’s request to increase the supplement pay for technology contacts by $500 per school, to $1500 for elementary, and $2000 for middle and high school. Those supplement positions are funded through the Step 7B budget, which includes these increases in the 2022-23 budget. The board approved the request.

Also approved by the board was the action to seek bids for a new CTE/County Passenger Van, to be paid from county funds on a motion by Larry Hardway. Board President Evelyn Post discussed the need for the van and Dr. Kenna Seal spoke of possibly getting two vans. Dr. Combs stated it would take a while to go through the bidding process for the 12-passenger van but would hope to have something by spring.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:17 pm. The next regular meeting is scheduled for 6:00 pm on December 6.