Braxton Citizens' News, Community, Schools

New Board members, superintendent sworn in

The newly elected members of the Braxton County Board of Education and the new school superintendent were sworn in at a special meeting held on June 28.

Honorable Judge Richard A. Facemire performed the Oaths of Office for Lisa Ratliff, Kevin Gregory, and Larry Hardway who were elected in May to the board. He then swore in Braxton County’s new superintendent Dr. Rhonda Combs.

Judge Facemire thanked the outgoing board members President DeAnna Whipkey and Dolores Wright and Superintendent Kathy Hypes for their work providing a good education to the students.

Evelyn Post also thanked them and Dr. Martha Dean for their service to the board and the challenges they faced during the pandemic.

Dr. Kenna Seal thanked President Whipkey for her leadership. He also thanked Wright and Dean as well as David Hoover for their service noting he was honored to serve with them the last few years.

President Whipkey thanked the other board members for their support during her and Wright’s term. She stated it was a “huge honor” to serve the community and the students for the past four years. President Whipkey also thanked Superintendent Hypes for her service the last three years.

Under regular business the board approved the following consent agenda items on a motion by Dolores Wright with a second by Evelyn Post: minutes of June 21 meeting; transportation requests; payment of bills; and budget transfers and supplements.

The board approved the following professional and service personnel recommendations: employment of Wesley Monk, elementary music teacher, Ivy Hodges, elementary music teacher, Forrest Taylor, special education teacher, BCMS, Kelsie Tonkin, from PE/Planning teacher, Flatwoods, to PE/Health/Wellness teacher, BCHS, Erica Toler, from preschool special needs teacher, Flatwoods, to English teacher, BCHS, Sheran Helmick, 1st grade teacher, Frametown, Carla Mauser, from 3rd grade teacher, Burnsville, to special education teacher (part-time), Sutton, Duane Williams, from 6th grade science teacher, BCMS, to 6th grade social studies teacher, BCMS, Melissa Duckworth, from 5th grade teacher, Davis, to 6th grade math teacher, BCMS, Sherry Moats, instructional aide, Little Birch, summer school, and Stephanie Stewart, summer student receptionist; reassignment for Jaclyn Whitney, from BCMS to Flatwoods; and resignation for Paul Burton, summer school bus operator.

On a motion by Dolores Wright with a second by Evelyn Post, the board approved the all fundraisers as presented.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:19 pm. The board will be conducting an organizational meeting on July 5 at 6:00 pm.